Posts Nobody Read That Took Me Forever to Write

Every blogger experiences this…

How Much Did MySpace Cost? took me six minutes to write and was viewed by thousands of visitors. Meanwhile, Top 50 Web 2.0 Blogs took an entire week to compile and was read by almost no one!

Here is a list of my personal belly flops. Highly labor-intensive posts read by almost no one!

Alexa Traffic Rank Series

I find this topic enthralling. But judging from the blog stats, people would rather just read Top 100 Finance Blogs.

*Alexa Ranking Defending Alexa Ranking? Pretty intriguing, right?
*In Defense of Alexa Ranking Jason Calacanis received 1,000 Diggs for posting that Alexa is “100% wrong.” I prove Jason Calacanis 100% wrong and receive zero Diggs. Hmph.
*Proving Alexa Right Alexa is statistically accurate? Newsworthy!

Stock Coverage

These posts take a ton of research, and are wildly unpopular with readers.

*CSHD – Textbook Pump and Dump Brilliant journalism!
*IDS Worldwide CEO Mugshot on ValueWiki ValueWiki at its finest!
*SLJB CEO Peter Vucicevich under SEC Investigation Pulitzer Prize material!

The Entire Wikipedia Series

So few blogs cover the inner-workings of Wikipedia. I always think I’m tapping a gold mine when I blog Wikipedia. Well, oh well. Here are some posts I thought were riveting…

*Is Wikipedia Becoming a Totalitarian State? Wikipedia votes to delete the Esperanza project as the world yawns.
*Microsoft Employee Vandalizes TechCrunch Article Why weren’t people fired over this?
*Wikipedia is Slowing Down Maybe not earth-shattering, but I thought I unearthed some good statistics.

Miscellaneous

*ValueWiki Contributor of the Day Contest – What? ValueWiki’s giving away $100 every day in February to the best Wiki contributor? With a $500 grand prize on March 1st? What a scoop! Well, moderately.
*Bubbles are Not Inflationary I thought I was being very controversial here, but apparently not so much.
*Top 50 Web 2.0 Blogs – This took me forever! This was like Beethoven writing the 5th Symphony and nobody showing up for the debut.

Bottom Line

The internet is a mystery wrapped in an enigma, wrapped in a burrito. Considering the ValueWiki blog has only been consistently active for little more than a month, we are extremely grateful for our traffic and various rankings. In the meantime, I will continue to blog on whatever I like, and if that’s popular, so be it!

6 Responses to Posts Nobody Read That Took Me Forever to Write

  1. Wikister says:

    The think is to get some critical mass of interesting material and then proactively engage some chosen blog discussions and message boards, very topically and then casually refer to a relevant VW blog entry or article. It should snowball from there.

  2. Wikister says:

    I will be glad to showcase around the RIMM articles of any others after we agree that the are ready the go. I think all ValueWikians shoudl do the same and let others know. RIMM should be ready to ask for your approval a day or two…

  3. Antonio says:

    Very nice site! Good work.

  4. Angela says:

    I do like your Wikipedia-related posts, but I know how you feel. On my old blog, the most popular post by far is an offtopic comment about a baby pigeon and the most popular search term leading people to that blog is “baby pigeon picture”. Now I’ve moved my blog, that picture accounts for most of the traffic there.

  5. Jon says:

    Angela, I checked it out, and that is one adorable baby pidgeon!

    Very neat to have the Wikia co-founder poking around this blog. In starting ValueWiki we’ve been very interested in all the neat features at Wikia and ArmChairGM.

    I will add WikiAngela to the ole daily feedread. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. angel says:

    this quote is your hook:

    “The internet is a mystery wrapped in an enigma, wrapped in a burrito.”

    are you the source, or are you quoting someone else? I would like to post it in my upcoming blog…

    cheers!
    angel

Leave a Reply

